Other Sites · This Blog

Exposed

Having just done a podcast with fellow QC Charon (not, however, in my Chambers), I am hyperventilating quietly. As I suspect is the case for most of us, my initial reaction on hearing myself speak is to wonder who that prat is. That was quickly followed by exactly the process I go through as I come out of Court; namely asking myself why I said what I said in the way that I said it and berating myself for not saying other things, whilst simultaneously wondering at my own idiocy (I know how many tenancies there are – 533 – so why did I say I didn’t?). I also counted the number of times I said “uuummm”, but stopped when I started crying.

If that is to give the impression I didn’t enjoy it (surely not – Ed), that would be entirely false. Like most barristers I like the idea of being allowed to pontificate on things. The great American comic Tom Lehrer defines a philospher as someone who enjoys giving advice to people who are happier than he is. If the cap fits…

But do have a listen and see if it helps.

2 thoughts on “Exposed

  1. Simon… thank you for doing it.,

    Of course, as everyone knows, you are a real QC.. and I just gave it to myself…. but, then again, I am a figment, a fiction…. not of the real world… or some may say, not even of this world, judging by some of my posts.

    Good podcast… Thanks – Of course, I have the easy bit – the questions. Must be a change for you to answer questions 🙂

    Charon.

  2. Hi Simon,

    I listened to your podcast with interest. It was good to hear you pull yout blogthoughts together in reasoned conversation – and it was nice, if a bit strange to put a face to the voice to the name!

Leave a Reply

