Skip to content

Interesting Non-Law Blogs

September 5, 2008

According to Charon QC I am now supposed to recommend 5 non-law blogs. I would not normally do this, but anything that expands the reading of the average law student is worth a try. Having just insulted my audience, let me give the recommendations to which they will now, I am sure, be receptive.

Strangely, I don’t actually spend all that much time looking at blogs, still less non-legal ones. But browsing the web, like anything else, reflects my individual interests. Therefore, for those who are interested in other legal systems I recommend Hirhurim. This is a moderate view of my religion (really) and is interesting for the range of subject matter upon which Jewish Law, or halacha, impacts.

Then there is English Cut. My grandfather was a tailor, as were so many Jewish immigrants to this country. I don’t think I can afford a suit from Mr Mahon, but the site is interesting about a difficult job and how to do it supremely well.

I don’t know if this is a site really, but I collect old watches (the other grandfather was a Jeweller) and this is a consistently interesting collection of exactly that. Don’t buy a Rolex – they’re hugely overrated.

Then there is the world’s greatest cartoon, delivered to my inbox every day and available here. Doonesbury has made me laugh for over 25 years, ever since my flatmate – who had taken the then remarkably adventurous step of spending a year at Georgetown University – introduced me to it.

Finally there is wine. I know, I know – it’s a sterotypical barrister thing. But I do like it and the endless variety, occasional disappointments and the ability to get a bargain is both seductive and reminiscent of life at the Bar. Robert Parker isn’t my thing – scores out of 100 with a minimum of 50 and a preference for blockbuster fruit over interest and subtlety. Jancis Robinson is excellent, but you have to pay. The best free site is Bordoverview. This has every critic’s score for every Bordeaux vintage since 2005. If you find something you like then enter it here and you’ll see if you can afford it – or not. Bordeaux is actually overpriced at the moment, but I haven’t been able to find a similar facility for Italien wine which is very good value. If you know of one, please tell me.

Have a nice weekend.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2008 1:05 am

    Simon… an excellent choice of non-law blogs… thanks for responding….

    I shall investigate….

  2. Lawminx permalink
    September 17, 2008 6:30 pm

    I’ve just seen English Cuts price for a two piece bespoke suit.
    *Faints*.

  3. September 19, 2008 3:00 pm

    and you like doonesbury and claret – stop it before i offer to have your babies

  4. Fink Floyd permalink
    September 22, 2008 10:43 am

    That English Cut blog is very interesting – thanks Simon. Perhaps one day…

  5. MactTrats permalink
    October 1, 2008 2:34 pm

    Hi
    Nice site!

    G’night

  6. November 16, 2008 5:37 pm

    Utterly boring selection….dull as ditch-water – dreadful….rubbish and useless. Why did you bleedin’ bother?

  7. November 16, 2008 6:07 pm

    I think you mean that these things don’t interest you. Alas I’m not that interested in fruit.

  8. sandrar permalink
    September 10, 2009 2:32 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

Trackbacks

  1. 7 September: Postcard from The Boat « Charon QC…the blawg
  2. 5 Blogs & 5 Blawgers « Servicios de hosting
  3. Buscando Host Gratis » Blog Archive » 5 Blogs & 5 Blawgers

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,527 other followers

